Driving has always been therapeutic for me.No matter what mood I m in, it just lifts my spirits and also the spirits of people on road :P (Just kidding).
I started driving a two wheeler from the age of 14.Used to have a trendy those days.Was gifted to me by my dad after I topped the district in my 10th board exams.For the next 6 years it was just me and my trendy. Still remember those carefree school and engineering days.No matter where I went, my trendy used to be my constant companion.Did crazy stuff with my trendy like trippling. Even tried attempting a wheelie once but failed miserably. Anyways, will leave those stories to some other post.
Fast forward to 2007.Learnt driving a four wheeler. Got d license (to kill :P).But somehow did not drive too frequently.
Used to drive my dad's car once in a blue moon and that was it.It was only after I brought my own car in 2012 that I
started driving regularly.
Anyways, enough of my driving history. This post is basically about the driving skills of d fairer sex :). Who is better
on wheels" Male or female". This happens to be one of the most hotly debated arguments since" Which came first, the chicken or the eggs"?
There is a common tendency that whenever there is some chaos on road, the credit for it is given to some female driver.I myself have heard it so many times from family and friends that women might have learned to drive but they lack the basic driving sense.Infact read in an article that according to some research, men are indeed better drivers than women.To add to that, women always find difficulty in parallel parking.
My take on it is little different.I think that how women and men judge driving are two completely different things.For men, the aim of getting behind the wheel is to reach their destination as quickly as possible. Whereas For women, the aim of driving is twofold: to get to their destination alive and without having killed anything on the way :).
For men anything that gets in the way of their destination is an obstruction that needs to be got past fast, whether that’s an old lady crossing the street, a traffic jam or a one-way road.Whereas for women it boils down to one thing "SAFETY". Who cares about time :).
One more difficulty that most female drivers face is they seldom have knowledge about the car mechanics. They get completely stuck even in case of a minor fault.I really doubt how many of them are capable of changing the stepney in case of tyre puncture.This is one area we need to work upon.
Anyways, One of my friend once advised me that it doesnt matter what speed you are driving, what matters is the control you have over your car and that has been my mantra in the last few years.
So the question again boils down to who is better with cars??
Ummmm...well, if the question is who is better with cars, my vote will go to guys but if the question is who is better behind the wheels then there is no clear cut answer. I have seen so many fabulous female drivers. Infact few of my friends are awesome drivers themselves.
As far as I am concerned, I like to believe that I drive pretty okay. I admit that I still am not very good with parallel parking but otherwise my driving is pretty decent. The feedback that I have got mostly from my dad and my friends is that I should drive little slow otherwise I m good to go :).One of d things in my To Do List is to go on a road trip to the uttarakhand valleys.With that note,I guess its time to hit the bed :).
Drive Safe!!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment