Saturday, August 31, 2013

Diary of an average Indian girl!!!!


Last couple of weeks have been pretty hectic for me. Initially, I was busy settling in my new organization. Then all of a sudden, I had to go to Hyderabad for an official trip. But no complains as I always like a busy life.

Anyways, this post has been long due. Wanted to write something on this topic since long. But don’t know why, something stopped me from sharing my views.

From the time I grew up, I had been hearing the myth called '21st century girls'.

Girls, who are independent. Girls who are excelling in almost every field. Girls who can take care of not only their family but also are a force to reckon in the professional world. Honestly speaking, all that seems a BIG LIE now. Why?? Because the way the things are happening these days make me wonder are we really living in the 21st century.

Every morning when I go through the newspaper, I come across more articles on atrocities against women than any other topic. Young innocent girls being raped, being harassed by in laws for dowry and if not anything else eve teased.

I really at times feel that it’s a curse to be born as a girl in India. Forget the girls belonging to the lower strata of society, I have seen so many middle class families where girls are married off as soon as they complete their graduation and at times even before that. Very few of them get the privilege of going for a post graduation.

I have seen so many well educated girls whose only aim is to get married to a well off guy.

I really wonder how many girls dream of becoming an Indra Nooyi or Kiran Mazumdar Shaw. I am very sure most of them have not even heard these names.

But who is responsible for such a pathetic state in our country. I believe it’s no one but we ourselves. Our so called value system. We all are very hypocritical people. We believe something, we say something else and we end up doing something else.

On one hand we have guys celebrating rakhee with their sisters, promising to protect them throughout their life. On the other hand, we have the same guys making fun of other girls, treating them as objects.
On one hand we have girls talking about women liberty, advancement, progress. On the other hand we have the same women passing comments on girls who drink and smoke.
On one hand we have parents giving good education to their daughters. On the other hand we have the same parents giving dowry in their daughter's marriage.
I know well educated guys, pass out of India's leading colleges who use abusive language against their girlfriends and wives.
I know well educated girls who consider giving dowry is part of Indian culture and its foolish to say NO to a deserving guy just because his family is asking for dowry.

All this really makes me think, where have we gone wrong. Our education system teaches us to respect women. It teaches all of us irrespective of a girl or a guy to become independent. Then from where does this hypocrisy come into picture.

Thinking about all this makes me very feel very sad and angry at the same time. I consider myself very lucky to have parents like mine. Both my sister and I have always been encouraged to be independent in life. We have always been encouraged to dream big and follow our passion no matter how unconventional it might be to others. I also have few friends who are as lucky as I am. But I just wish we had more parents like that.

I like to make it very clear that I am not a feminist. I am not here to blame the guys for the condition of women in our society. I feel women in our country are equally responsible. I have friends (read guys) who respect and love women.
Anyways, being born in a country which itself is called Baharat Ma, its feels very sad seeing the plight of women. However, there is a very famous dialogue from Rang de Basanti "Koi bhi desh perfect nahi hota, use perfect banana padta hain". I just hope we Indians change our outlook and make our country a better place to live. :)

PS: I usually don’t write such serious posts. Its just that I have been reading Chetan Bhagat's What Young India Want these days and I felt that this is one subject, he should have written on.


2 comments:

Anonymous said...

Good one Annie! I echo your thoughts.. Such incidents make us all think on these lines of our so called cultured society..
I'm equally lucky to have parents who have always encouraged me to be independent and no less in any way to a guy..
However, I have seen exactly the kind of hypocrite people that you've mentioned.
There's more to add, after getting married, a girl could not contribute to her parents financially, this is being discouraged from both her parents and in laws(directly/indirectly).. Why? Haven't they contributed to her studies or upbringing.. Why getting married in Indian society is more of a gain for guys family and loss for girls family.. There's a lot to this wedding thing itself.. It's only the brides family who pays for wedding, why don't both parties divide equally..Anyways, there's a lot to even this wedding thing alone.
Being a parent of a girl child is a big challenge in itself in this Indian society itself.. Taking care of her since birth, saving her from evil men out there and making her stronger at same time.

I feel like writing a lot after reading your post..

Hope our selfish, hypocrite society will be ready for the change to accept gender equality not just by words but by deeds..
Alas!At the end this is a male dominating society, girls could only write on blogs.. And hope they could at least be the start of bringing out such change in next generation if not this..

Manish Rawat said...

Great Stuff Annie... However I have a difference of opinion... 21st Century has given good opportunity to all (B it male or female)

Could you really have been in position where you are today if u would have born generation earlier.. V have made progress and girls do have Respect, Self Dependency better than ever in this 21st century... I believe the bigger question is "On the system of Corruption and Our habit of Procrastination" and has nothing to do with "21st Century"... This century has actually transformed Indian society with Women playing business roles.. are in political power and have been travelling Globe". What more can we really expect when we flashback and read about "Sati Pratha".. women limited to household works half century ago.. I am not justifying rapes n eve teasing in this country.. This is pathetic and shall be treated appropriately.. What I want to convey here that "It is our lack of decision making... procrastination and lenient laws that still needs Lots of Improvements" if v have to make India better n safer place... for Women..Rest I still believe Women today do enjoy Rights equivalent to Men in this "21st Century"